Looking for a Simple Baby Blanket Idea

This post has 12 Replies | 6 Followers
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 119
jli2 wrote
on Apr 22, 2010 1:47 PM

The stork is making his rounds to a few friends and I want to gift them all with baby blankets. I'm still a newbie at crochet and prefer simple patterns (ones that I don't have to refer to often) and ones that will work up quickly.

I'm looking for suggestions (and written instructions) of some simple "back & forth" type patterns that would make a pretty blanket, but not be boring. 

Right now, I am working on one in a solid shell stitch pattern and it's not too bad. It's just a matter of mastering the stitch and committing it to memory so I don't have to rely on a pattern. 

I would appreciate any suggestions! 

Thank you! 

Not Ranked
Posts 1
wilbmd1 wrote
on Apr 22, 2010 5:06 PM

A v  stritch makes a nice afghan - chain a multiple of 3  +5 then DC in  5th chain from hook,  then work V stitch ( dc, chain 1 dc) in every 3rd stitch thereafter..  make with a light yarn for summer babies  or a heavier one for fall babies.  Can do stripes of different colors, etc for more visual appeal. 

hope this helps. Melissa Kehl

Not Ranked
Posts 1
Crochet2 wrote
on Apr 24, 2010 7:46 AM

A large granny square makes a nice baby blanket. You just start a normal granny but continue around until it measures around 32-36" square. You can even make "normal" size grannies to border around the big granny. I have made several of these and they work up fast and do not get boring.  2 to 3 solid colors or a pretty variegated yarn work for this style. If you are making one for a boy - a denim variegated looks neat and a pink and white variegated always is pretty for girls. Try bold primary colors or soft earth tones - anything works with granny! Check out any crochet guide to start a granny - Pauline Turner has the best "How to Crochet" guide along with the Harmony guides.

Have Fun!

Top 150 Contributor
Posts 41
crochetmagic wrote