Hi :)

This post has 3 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
on Oct 20, 2010 12:36 PM

Hi, everyone!

I'm Michelle and I'm brand new to crocheting. My mother and grandmother have been avid crocheters for years, and they recently challenged me to try picking up a crochet hook and see how much fun it is to crochet. (Also, they were commenting on how my two cousins and myself have never had any interest in crocheting, and I'm determined to prove them wrong!) :)

I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions on what a good yarn is to start with for a beginner who's bound to make plenty of mistakes :P

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 164
Shellie2355 wrote
on Oct 20, 2010 2:10 PM

Hi Michelle,

DON'T GO FOR EYELASH YARN!!!!!

Really, if you're just starting out, stick with a nice, inexpensive acrylic or acrylic blend yarn. My favorite of all is Caron's Simply Soft. It's very reasonably priced and just like the name it is really REALLY soft! I make hats for cancer patients with this yarn.

It is a nice ply, so it doesn't unravel on your hook, it slides nicely over metal or wood hooks (and itself within a stitch) and there are wonderful colors to choose from. Another good choice is Lion Brand Yarn Vanna's Choice and Vanna's Choice for Babies (yes, that's Vanna White from Wheel of Fortune). Joann's and Michaels Craft stores usually have sales on these yarns, too.

Good luck and hope to see photos of your projects!

Shellie Dunn
Somonauk, IL
http://4evercrochet.blogspot.com

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 119
jli2 wrote
on Oct 20, 2010 3:32 PM

Part of why the "soft" acrylic yarns are so nice to work with is that they don't rub your finger raw nearly as bad as the more coarse/cheap acrylic yarns. You'd be surprised just how quickly that spot on your index finger can get irritated from the yarn running along it as you crochet.