Nicole's Cap

This post has 10 Replies | 2 Followers
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 119
jli2 wrote
on Oct 21, 2010 1:28 PM

I have a couple general questions about this free pattern by Sara Read. 

1.) Has anyone made it? And if so, did you find any errors in the pattern that I need to be aware of? I'm not experienced enough to know possible fixes or work-arounds if there are. (At least, I don't think I am!)

2.) Did you find that you had to adjust the overall length of the pattern? I'm thinking I'll just need to try it on as I go and see how it's fitting. I would prefer the cap sit snugly against the top of my head, but to accomplish that, it can't be too long. 

I'm really just looking for anyone who's made this pattern that might have any insights to share. 

Thank you!

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 119
jli2 wrote
on Oct 21, 2010 6:29 PM

So far, the pattern is working up nicely. It's a simple pattern and repetitive, so you don't have to stay glued to the pattern.

I LOVE the yarn I chose - Opal sock yarn. Wool/cotton/poly blend. Not as itchy as the other sock weights and the color is so pretty!

I've never made anything to "fit" before, so it'll be interesting to see how well I do. Hopefully there's no frogging in my future!

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 119
jli2 wrote
on Oct 22, 2010 11:13 AM

I'm hoping Sarah will respond since this is her pattern. 

I am wondering what the approximate diameter of the sc rounds should be before you begin with rd 18? 

I'm using a 3.75mm hook and sockweight yarn, but am starting to doubt that the diameter will be enough before beginning the open pattern work. It's hard to tell by the pictures on the pattern. 

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 119
jli2 wrote
on Oct 22, 2010 3:15 PM

Here's what I have done so far. It's measuring 5 1/4" across from point to point. I have completed through round 17, which is the final round of this particular stitch pattern.