OFFICIAL SIDNEY'S SIDEWAYS SOCKS CAL

This post has 726 Replies | 37 Followers
Top 75 Contributor
Posts 59
kdusza wrote
on Oct 6, 2011 10:51 AM

JJennifer, I love your rainbow socks!  You put the colors together so well!! 

I finally got photos taken of my finished socks, plus a little design experiment.  My big-footed daughter was kind enough to pose for me because the socks are  a bit large on me. I told her to "take first position" in dancer lingo, and she managed it quite nicely.   I started another cuff  with the squares at a diagonal and then tried to fill in with ripple.  It could work if I wanted to make a third sock, which I was going to do, but I'm ready for the next project instead.  Maybe someone else can play with it too...

Also AD, I used Knit Picks yarn on the heel of one sock and it is by far softer than the Brown Sheep.  I'm still learning about yarns and guess I that is a subject that requires constant study.  I'm glad this CAL gives me a reason and motivation to experiment.

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 200
on Oct 7, 2011 10:43 AM

Hey there All -

I love, love, love the socks!  Great colors and very ambitious modeling poses all around.  I see I'm going to have to "step" up my game!  Yeah, that was pretty bad, oh well...

FYI - if anyone had trouble doing the heel on Shirley's Socks, you can now do it if you did the heel on Beaux Jeste Socks.  The directions are slightly different.  I found Beaux Jeste easy to understand and difficult to understand Shirley's, the directions are a bit different.  I'm currently working on Shirley's and have just turned the heel even as I speak.  I remember being so frustrated with Shirley's.  But then again, I was a sock newbie back then.  Now I have 5 sock patterns under my belt.

Okay, here is the link to the next pair of socks:

http:www.crochetme.com/media/p/89746.aspx

It is entitled The Ultimate Sock.

Pattern Notes:

I had to go to a 3.5omm hook