How to crochet a border around a place mat

This post has 4 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
on Mar 26, 2011 9:48 PM

Hi,

I am very new to crocheting.  Very new!  I have a very long way to go in continuing to learn but I so want to learn to crochet because it is such good emotional therapy for me in dealing with having had cancer.

I made a place mat using just the single crochet stitch.  I would like to learn to put a border around the place mat in a different color.  I have a hard time learning things and I am asking for your help - if you could please - to tell me how to put a border around my place mat.  I don't know where to start the border or how to create it.  If you know of any YouTube videos - where there are visual instructions - that is how I learn best.

Any help is very, very much appreciated!

And thank you for your time.

Cancersurvivor

Not Ranked
Posts 2
Laela wrote
on Mar 28, 2011 9:47 PM

Try http:www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMNcCDzVoao .  She is using a single crochet stitch to make a border in a different color.  Good luck!

Top 150 Contributor
Posts 35
jroberts123 wrote
on Mar 29, 2011 12:12 AM