Best Kind of Yarn???

This post has 5 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
on Aug 29, 2012 3:20 PM

Hi Everyone...

I am new to the world of Crochet and I have a few beginners questions...

I just finished my first scarf (which I am very proud of BTW :) ) Anyway... Not having any knowledge of yarns or supplies I simply purchased a 100% acrylic yarn that I thought was pretty.  To my luck, after watching my how to DVD and youtube tutorials, It was the kind that they recommended for a beginner.  I think I bought Red Hart Brand.  It ended up being super hard and itchy.  I wasn't really planning on wearing it, so that's okay.  So my question to you would be what brand yarn do you recommend and why?  I know different projects require different types of yarn but I am really wanting to know about your brand preference?  Any good starter tips?  And is there really a difference with the cheaper stuff versus the more expensive.  Since I am still learning I only plan on going to Hobby Lobby or Walmart for my yarn.. So please recommend stuff that I could find there.  I will be more open to better stuff as I become better at Crochet.  Thanks so much guys!!!

-sweetorchid-

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 158
on Aug 29, 2012 4:11 PM

Personally, I love Caron"s Simply Soft.  My scarves and shawls are so comfy soft and have a silky feeling.  This yarn is under $3 at Walmart and about $4 at Michaels.  I do not have a Hobby Lobby where I live, but I see their ad in the newspaper and they have very reasonable prices.

I have made 2 shawls each for my daughter and granddaughter and they want more!!!  They absolutely love the feel.  And I was able to keep 1 shawl for myself. :~)

For neck scarves, short or long, I like the Simply Soft again.  My granddaughter likes both narrow and wide scarves. She wears them with her tees and blouses.   I like them about 6" wide for me to wear under my coat in the winter time.