Looking for tips on yarn type - any help appreciated!

This post has 2 Replies | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
sejmills wrote
on Jan 6, 2013 11:31 AM

Hi all -- I'm looking for yarn to use to crochet neckwarmers for athletes - I'm new to crochet but am looking for a wicking or 'technical' yarn that won't get soggy with sweat and won't hold odor.  Any ideas?  

Thanks so much.

Top 75 Contributor
Posts 57
Chester2010 wrote
on Jan 28, 2013 3:11 PM

http://knitting.about.com/gi/o.htm?zi=1/XJ&zTi=1&sdn=knitting&cdn=hobbies&tm=36&f=00&tt=14&bt=1&bts=1&zu=http%3A//www.woolworks.org/fibers.html

There is a lot of info about weights and ply, etc. here.  I'll copy what I think applies best to your question.  I do not know if there is a yarn that repels odor, but I would watch for ease of machine wash and dry.

Vegetable fibers:

• Cotton is the fiber surrounding the seeds in a cotton pod. Usually white but there are green and brown varieties. Cotton is heavy, dense and inelastic; although it will regain its shape after washing, its ability to do so decreases over time. It is comfortable to wear in a cool climate but not a hot one (the opposite of wool) and is slow to dry once wet. It makes a weaker yarn than silk or linen but is stronger than wool.

• Linen comes from the flax plant. It is durable and stronger than any other fiber. Fabric made from it becomes softer and more beautiful with age. It absorbs moisture better than cotton and dries more quickly, making it more comfortable to wear than cotton in hot temperatures. It is easier to wash than wool and does not stretch or shrink.

• Ramie is made from nettles (as in the Fairy Tale "The Swan Princes," where their sister had to gather nettles and spin them into yarn.) It is often used as a substitute for linen since it is less expensive but shares linen's good qualities.