Help, please? - Trying to decipher a pattern

This post has 5 Replies | 1 Follower
Not Ranked
Posts 3
katie220 wrote
on Feb 5, 2013 6:28 AM

Hi, I'm new to crochet & loving it. I'm making a purse from a pattern in a book, The Complete Photo Guide to Crochet. Here is what it says towards the end of crocheting the back & front:

Next row: Ch1, sk first st, sc2tog, sc in each st until last 3sts, sc2tog, 1sc in tch, turn -- 41sc.

Next row: Ch1, sk first st, 1sc in each st across, 1 sc in top of tch, turn. (okay, I actually get all of that)

Rep last 2 rows 2 times more -- 37dc. Fasten off.

My question is, this is all single crochet. Do they mean that you add 37double crochet after you repeat the last 2 rows 2 times? They kind of threw in the double crochet without saying there was a final row of it.

My other question is more general: this entire pattern is worked in sc through the back loop. Do you think that would make the purse less sturdy, since you are only crocheting through one loop? I've finished the gusset and the strap, and haven't yet started the body of the purse. I'm a complete novice, and any help would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks,

Katie

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 518
Char55 wrote
on Feb 5, 2013 8:39 AM

It seems to be a simple typing error; since the "d" on the keyboard is right next to the "s" I think they just hit the wrong key. It looks like  you're supposed to have 37 single crochet stitches by the time you finish.

Can't answer the question about the sturdiness of the purse, but ripple baby blankets worked in back loop only seem to be strong enough...I guess it would depend on how much stuff you're planning to put in the purse.

Not Ranked
Posts 3
katie220 wrote
on Feb 6, 2013 6:21 AM