Addie Heron's Purse to Bead-Crochet

This post has 4 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 7
JaneanE wrote
on May 18, 2014 2:12 PM

I bought the Sept/Oct 2013 Piecework magazine for the sole purpose of this pattern.  I just love it.  However, Southmaid crochet cotton has disappeared in my area completely and the manufacturer doesn't acknowledge this product at all.  The purse frame isn't available in Silver only gold, and I find the pattern a bit perplexing.  The seed beads it calls for aren't available in the area either.  I have substituted them for what I could find here.

I've been crocheting for over 20 years but still had a hard time getting my gauge right with a comparable crochet thread.  Also it instructs to turn work over and crochet into both the top and bottom of the foundation chain.  I find it difficult to see my stitches with the black thread and keeping my stitch count consistent.  I'm only practicing at this point with some Aunt Lydia"s, I'm waiting for some decent DMC to come in but, I would imagine I would have the same difficulty with it.  What I find odd, is that I don't join at any point, I'm assuming that it works in a spiral, but as I said, my stitch count is always off.

Any suggestions would be helpful.  I don't want to start this project off on the wrong foot.

Thanks

Not Ranked
Posts 1
Sabin.wi wrote
on Jul 16, 2014 1:18 PM

Hi jJaneanE

i have just noticed your post. I know it's a bit late, but hopefully not too late.yes this bag in crocheted in the round. The best is to cast on in a different colour, then crochet one side in to the front and the other side. Use the baseline of your front stitches. It's the same when knitting. When done you just unpick the temporary chain. Have you ever looked at the bee keepers quilt ? Use double pointed needles and cast on on either needle. This method uses 3 needles. In this case you could use the new type of crochet needles which you could extend like circular needles.