My favourite crochet books

This post has 25 Replies | 12 Followers
Top 500 Contributor
Posts 13
susie33 wrote
on May 13, 2010 10:23 AM

I was given a wonderful book 100 Flowers to Crochet and the Crochet Bible by my mum... then my son bought me two books... Compendium of Crochet Techniques which is brilliant with loads of tips and also Easy Crocheted Accessories with lovely ideas.  I just love crochet patterns and read them all like novels. 

Not Ranked
Posts 8
meghancriss wrote
on May 25, 2010 7:49 AM

Susie33,

I have some wonderful books, too!  It's so fun to hear that you read the charts like novels....I LOVE the charts and don't know why.  But I sit and read them thinking, I can do this!  I'm new to crochet....again, actually.  Years ago all I did was one blanket and one special stitch, but now I'm into clothes and have made three hats so far.  I love knitting too!

I have a question for you, it you know this: I just bought some hooks  (Boye) to replace a Crystalite I'm working with, but the sizes are not seeming to match: the Red Hearts say the sizes are G-6 4.0 and the Boyes say they are G-6 4.25.  The MMs are different!  Will that alter my project if I switch hooks now?  Do you know where I can find that out?

Thanks!~ Meg

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 13
susie33 wrote
on May 25, 2010 8:54 AM

I dont really know Meg... I use mm.. I have to look up the USA sizes and match them, you might have to do a swatch again to make sure the tension is right... I was in the middle of a baby afghan using a 5.00mm with a popcorn stich.. forgot which number I was using and used a 4.50 mm for quite a few rows before I realised... it did make a very slight difference but only I could see..Wink then switched back again to finish it off... I was a bit annoyed with myself but didnt have the heart to undo it all again.

Not Ranked
Posts 9
joyenglish wrote
on Dec 21, 2010 7:40 PM

Susie,