Michael's Loop's & Threads Crochet Bag

This post has 10 Replies | 5 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
inspir8ion wrote
on Nov 6, 2010 10:58 PM

Hi there! I am a beginner and have (I think) come a long way in reading patterns since I started, however I am constantly second-guessing myself. I am working on a pattern that came with an Impeccable skein of yarn for a crochet bag, which can be found on Michael's website. I think I have managed to get through the first 9 rows correctly, but I am not sure I did the rest correctly. It states:

51 hdc at end of last row. Place maker at end of last row. Cont even in pat for 3 ins, ending with a WS row.

So, after completing the last four rows, I turned (no chain) and did 51 hdc, marked that stitch, and finished the row with hdc's. Is this right?

The next step is even more confounding to my feable brain. It states:

shape sides: next row: (RS) Ch 2. Pat across next 15 hdc. Hdc2tog. Turn. Leave rem sts unworked. 16 sts. Next row: Ch 1. sc2tog made. Pat to end of row.

Which pattern is it referring to? So far I've been alt. and hdc row with a sc, tr, sc row. What am I doing into the next 15 hdc's? And, after the turn what stiches am I doing for the next 16? I am so confused.

Part of my problem is that I am very visual and would do much better to SEE this done. As it is this piece of work is becoming very circular and doesn't look anything like the shape of the purse! I'd appreciate any help someone could offer.

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 24
cannej wrote
on Nov 11, 2010 2:43 PM

Good Morning Inspir8ion,

The designer could have done a better job of specifying the pattern, but by reading through it as a whole you find that the pattern for the look of the bag is composed of Rows 2 through 5.  See how within Row 5 it says "Rep last 4 rows of pat once more"  and after Row 5, you're told to " Cont even in pat for 3 ins [7.5cm], ending with a WS row."