Official Moth Wings Shrug Crochet-Along

This post has 72 Replies | 20 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 4
Dawmre wrote
on Apr 17, 2011 2:16 PM

Hi---I am just learning to crochet so it is taking me a while to get gauge.  I am wondering how many squares I'm supposed to make to get the 4 3/4".  Is it 4 squares? Thanks!

Not Ranked
Posts 4
Dawmre wrote
on Apr 17, 2011 2:28 PM

Also---when you are making squares for gauge do you make 1 of the "first full motif" and the others "subsequent"?  Thanks!!!

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 1,192
Toni Rexroat wrote
on Apr 18, 2011 9:26 AM

Hi Dawmre! Yes, you will work 1 "first full motif" and then the other "subsequent" motifs. The gauge measures a square of 4 motifs.

Best wishes,

Toni

Not Ranked
Posts 4
Dawmre wrote
on Apr 19, 2011 12:24 PM

Toni--- I don't understand what the base row of motifs is that we are supposed to do this week. Thanks.

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 1,192
Toni Rexroat wrote
on Apr 19, 2011 4:16 PM

Dawmre—The base row is the row of 10 or 14 (depending on which size you are making) squares that are at the bottom or hem of the shrug. We will build the right and left fronts and the back off of this base. Remember that the triangle motifs are added after all of the square motifs have been made.

The shrug I am making needs to be just a few inches longer in the back, so I am working an extra base row. I am crocheting 8 squares and then will add the layer of 10 square centered on top of the eight. This will mean I will have 4 triangle motifs at the base instead of 2.

Does that answer your question?

Best wishes,

Toni

Not Ranked
Posts 4
Dawmre wrote
on Apr 19, 2011 9:14 PM

Toni,

It does, thank you.  So, we join the motifs as we go, correct?

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 1,192
Toni Rexroat wrote
on Apr 19, 2011 9:19 PM