Crochet Abbreviations

This post has 8 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 10
shmoomin wrote
on Nov 7, 2011 8:03 AM

Hi

I'm a complete newbie to crochet - I started 2 days ago! I was shown how to do a single chain and what in the UK is known as  treble. I've worked my way through a couple of lessons and can do the basic single chain, slip stitch, double crochet, treble, double treble & double treble group.  I'm still happily workign through tutorials but found a pattern on Crochet Me which I want to do & is why I have joined.

I'm in the UK and I wanted to make sure that I'm understanding these abbreviations correctly!

Can someone please translate this for me? It's Julia V's Basic Fingerless Mittens.

fsc - is this another way of saying single chain (sc)?

tbl

sts

rd/rds - is this rounds?

I'd really appreciate ALL your help!  Thanks Embarrassed

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 1,324
Toni Rexroat wrote
on Nov 7, 2011 11:16 AM

Hi! It sounds like you are a very fast learner! Yes rd/rds would indicate rounds.

Tbl stands for through the back loop only, so instead of inserting your hook under both loops of the stitch below, you would insert it under only the back loop.

Fsc stands for foundation single crochet. This is a stitch that allows you to create both the beginning chain and first row of single crochet at the same time. You can find instructions and illustrations for this stitch in the glossary.

Good luck and feel free to let me know if you have any more questions.

Best wishes,

Toni!

Not Ranked
Posts 10
shmoomin wrote
on Nov 9, 2011 7:45 AM

Hi

Thanks for this! I'm now familiarising myself with the stitches in the glossary I've not come across yet - or have but they've a different name!  Hopefully I'll get the mittens made soon.

Thanks again,

Sarah

Not Ranked
Posts 3
Mojo3322 wrote
on Dec 2, 2011 4:39 PM