How do I add a crochet edge to my baby blanket, maybe a small shell ?

This post has 1 Reply | 2 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
on Mar 18, 2012 4:44 PM

Hi my name is Shirley:) :  I am teaching myself to crochet , I have just finished a baby blanket of single crochet squares and I have whip stiched it altogether and would like to add a ruffle or  something around the edge. I think that it would finish it off , any sugestions ? I am still learning so something simple and where on the blanket would I start. Thanks for any help offered .

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 158
on Mar 18, 2012 5:20 PM

Hi, Shirley -

First you need to know how many stitches there are on the edge of each sqyare.

Let's say there are 15.  You could have a single crochet, then a half double crochet, then a double crochet, then a half double crochet, then a single crochet.  This takes care of 5 stitches.  Repeat this two more times and you have covered 15 stitches total.

Let's say you have 12 stitches on the edge of each square.  You could do a single crochet, a half double crochet, 2 double crochets, a half double crochet and a single crochet.  Do this twice and that takes care of 12 stitches.

These two ideas will lay flat, yet will make a nice edging.  You  could eliminate the half double crochet and use a double crochet in its place, then use a triple crochet in place of the double crochets.

Since you are a beginner, I think these patterns would be the easiest for you.