Help!! new and project is not working . .

This post has 7 Replies | 5 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 6
on Apr 18, 2012 10:27 AM

ok so I am very new to crocheting! I have been trying for a few days and I finally kinda got my tension to not be the big problem. BUT my question is . . . when do I add in an extra stitch at the end of my rows? everytime or only when the pattern calls for it? my dishcloth is not evenly square it is starting to be smaller and smaller!! help!!

Not Ranked
Posts 6
on Apr 18, 2012 11:22 AM

I was just looking around at some of the other posts on here and found where someone had suggested watching a youtube video by teresa richardson! And I have to say she is amazing her video is very informational and easy to follow! I saw what I was doing wrong yea!!!

For one I wasn't crocheting through both loops just one so all fixed now!! =)

Seriously youtube is a good resource!!

Not Ranked
Posts 1
Luz-de-Luna wrote
on Apr 18, 2012 12:38 PM

I also think it is a lifesaver to put a split-ring stitch marker under both top loops of the turning chain (no matter how big your chain is) at the end/beginning of a row, so I find it more easily when I stumble upon it again two rows later.

I came up with this solution when I, too, was a beginner who hopelessly watched her projects getting narrower. ;-)

Not Ranked
Posts 3
on Apr 18, 2012 1:03 PM

I tell everyone I teach to crochet to count the "v's" (the stitches) on each and every row until they get used to it so they dont miss a stitch. Good luck!

Not Ranked
Posts 3
on Apr 18, 2012 1:03 PM

I tell everyone I teach to crochet to count the "v's" (the stitches) on each and every row until they get used to it so they dont miss a stitch. Good luck!

Not Ranked
Posts 1
deknac wrote
on Apr 18, 2012 7:38 PM

To get your work even, count your stitches on every row. As long as you have the same # of stitches on every row, your work will stay even.

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 233
on Apr 19, 2012 11:23 AM